TO THE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY AND THE REPUBLIC OF ICELAND CONSEQUENT ON THE ACCESSION OF THE CZECH REPUBLIC, THE REPUBLIC OF ESTONIA, THE REPUBLIC OF CYPRUS, THE REPUBLIC OF LATVIA, THE REPUBLIC OF LITHUANIA, THE REPUBLIC OF HUNGARY,

THE REPUBLIC OF MALTA, THE REPUBLIC OF POLAND,
THE REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA AND THE SLOVAK REPUBLIC
TO THE EUROPEAN UNION.

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL

THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITY

and

THE REPUBLIC OF ICELAND

HAVING REGARD to the Agreement between the European Economic Community and the Republic of Iceland signed in Brussels on 22 July 1972, hereinafter called the "Agreement", and to the existing arrangements for trade in fish and fishery products between Iceland and the Community,

HAVING Regard to the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union,

HAVING REGARD to the Agreement on the Participation of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic in the European Economic Area, hereinafter referred to as the "EEA Enlargement Agreement",

HAVING REGARD to the existing regime for trade in fish and fishery products between Iceland and the Acceding Countries,

HAVE DECIDED to determine by common accord the adjustments to the Agreement consequent on the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union,

AND TO CONCLUDE THIS PROTOCOL,

ARTICLE 1

The text of the Agreement, the Annexes and Protocols, which form an integral part thereof, the Final Act and the Declarations annexed thereto shall be drawn up in the Czech, Estonian, Hungarian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Slovak and Slovenian languages and those texts shall be authentic in the same way as the original texts. The Joint Committee shall approve the Czech, Estonian, Hungarian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Slovak and Slovenian texts.

ARTICLE 2

The special provisions applicable to imports into the Community of certain fish and fishery products originating in Iceland are laid down in this Protocol and the Annex hereto.

The annual duty free quotas provided for in the Annex to this Protocol shall be implemented for the period 1 May 2004 to 30 April 2009. The quota levels shall be reviewed by the end of that period taking into account all relevant interests.

ARTICLE 3

A TARIC subdivision of CN code 0304 90 22 shall be created for frozen flaps of herring (butterflies), to which shall be associated the same preferential tariff measure as that provided for products of CN code 0304 20 75, in order to give frozen flaps of herring the same preferential treatment as frozen fillets from 1 May 2004.

ARTICLE 4

This Protocol shall be ratified or approved by the Contracting Parties in accordance with their own procedures. The instruments of ratification or approval shall be deposited with the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union.

It shall enter into force on the same day as the Treaty concerning the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union of 16 April 2003, provided that the instruments of ratification or approval of the following related agreements and protocols have been deposited as well:

- (a) Agreement on the Participation of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic in the European Economic Area;
- (b) Agreement between the Kingdom of Norway and the European Community on a Norwegian Financial Mechanism for the period 2004-2009;
- (c) Additional Protocol to the Agreement between the European Economic Community and the Kingdom of Norway consequent on the accession of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic to the European Union, and
- (d) Agreement in the form of an Exchange of Letters between the European Community and the Kingdom of Norway concerning certain agricultural products.

ARTICLE 5

This Protocol is drawn up in duplicate, in the Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Icelandic, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish languages each of these texts being equally authentic.